Dr.-Ing. Katharina Fischer

Katharina Fischer has been a Senior Scientist at Fraunhofer IWES in Hanover since 2012. After completing her degree in electrical engineering and earning a doctorate in mechanical engineering, she spent three years working as a postdoc at the Chalmers University of Technology in Gothenburg, Sweden. Since joining IWES, she has established a wide range of research activities in the fields of reliability, maintenance, and condition monitoring of wind turbines. The central role of field data analyses is common to all of them. She is dedicated to the optimal utilization of wind energy also in her spare time – as an avid windsurfer.

Power converter reliability: Field measurements illuminate climatic stress

Power converters are among the most frequently failing components of wind turbines. The causes remained unexplained for many years. Seasonal failure patterns point to environmental influences and shift the focus to the climatic conditions to which the power electronics are…

20,000 operating years: Data analysis generates added value from field data

Wind turbines generate electricity – and a whole lot of data. The amount of data is growing continuously as the number of operating years increases, but also as turbines are equipped with more and more sensors and operating data with…

Dr.-Ing. Katharina Fischer

Katharina Fischer ist seit 2012 Senior Scientist am Fraunhofer IWES in Hannover. Sie hat Elektrotechnik studiert und nach ihrer Promotion im Maschinenbau eine 3-jährige Postdoc-Zeit an der Chalmers University of Technology in Göteborg absolviert. Seit ihrem Wechsel zum IWES hat sie vielfältige Forschungsaktivitäten auf den Gebieten der Zuverlässigkeit, Instandhaltung und Zustandsüberwachung von Windenergieanlagen etabliert. Allen gemein ist die zentrale Rolle von Felddatenanalysen. Der optimalen Nutzung von Windenergie widmet sie sich auch in der Freizeit gern – beim Windsurfen.

Frequenzumrichter-Zuverlässigkeit: Feldmessungen beleuchten klimatische Belastung

Frequenzumrichter zählen zu den am häufigsten ausfallenden Komponenten von Windenergieanlagen. Die Ursachen hierfür waren lange unbekannt. Saisonale Häufungen von Ausfällen deuten auf Umwelteinflüsse hin und rücken die klimatischen Bedingungen in den Fokus, denen die Leistungselektronik im Feld ausgesetzt ist. Pro…

20.000 Betriebsjahre: Datenanalyse generiert Mehrwert aus Felddaten

Windenergieanlagen erzeugen Strom – und viele Daten. Mit fortschreitender Zahl an Betriebsjahren, aber auch durch die zunehmende Standardinstrumentierung der Anlagen mit Sensorik und Verfügbarkeit zeitlich höher aufgelöster Betriebsdaten wächst die Menge an Daten kontinuierlich an. Felddaten – womit alle während…